The Office of Tribal Government Relations (OTGR) team works to strengthen and build closer relations between VA, tribal governments, and other key federal, state, private, and non-profit partners in an effort to effectively and respectfully serve Veterans across Indian Country. This work is done in the spirit of government-to-government consultation and collaboration, respectful of the special relationship that exists between the United States and tribal governments.

Our efforts focus on three important goals: facilitating VA’s Tribal Consultation Policy, facilitating increased access to health care, and promoting economic sustainability (highlighting opportunities for Veterans to access fiscal, educational, housing, and other special programs and benefits through the VA).

We bring key partners to the table to address important issues raised by tribal leaders. Linking decision-makers and stakeholders to tribal leadership ensures Indian Country’s Veterans know who we at VA are, what VA offers Veterans, and how to reach VA to ensure access to the full range of services and benefits our Veterans have courageously earned through their service.

Clay Ward, Program Analyst, Office of Tribal Government Relations

Acting Director, Office of Tribal Government Relations

Additional Resources

Staff and Specialists

David Ward

Terry Bentley

Program Specialist
Located in Roseburg, Oregon

  • Alaska
  • California
  • Idaho
  • Nevada
  • Oregon
  • Washington

Mary Culley

Program Specialist
Located in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

  • Alabama
  • Florida
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Virginia
  • Texas

Homana Pawiki

Program Specialist
928-445-4860 ext. 5306
Located in Prescott, Arizona

  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • New Mexico
  • Utah

Peter Vicaire

Program Specialist
Located in Minneapolis, Minnesota

  • Connecticut
  • Iowa
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming