# DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS VETERANS HEALTH ADMINISTRATION

# MINUTES OF THE SPRING 2024 JOINT BIOMEDICAL LABORATORY AND CLINICAL SCIENCE RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT SERVICES SCIENTIFIC MERIT REVIEW BOARD

The teleconference meeting was called to order by the Chair, Paula Bickford, PhD, at 3:00 PM and concluded at 4:30 PM EDT on July 9, 2024. The meeting was open to the public. A Webex meeting ID and password had been announced in the Federal Register. The meeting was held virtually on the Webex meeting platform. Dr. Bickford presided throughout the meeting. Attendees included Board members and Biomedical Laboratory Research & Development (BLRD) staff and Clinical Science Research & Development (CSRD) staff.

Dr. Michael Burgio, Designated Federal Officer (DFO) of the Board, conducted a roll call of subcommittee chairpersons on the WebEx call.

## **Subcommittee Chairs Present:**

CARA CARB ENDA ENDB GAST	Ashutosh Shukla, MD Abhinav Diwan, MD Deborah, Clegg, PhD Bruce Troen, MD Laura Nagy, PhD
HEMA	Randal Westrick, PhD
INFB	Peter Williamson, MD
MHBA	Dayan Knox, PhD
MHBC	Bryan Debeer, PhD
MHBP	Nathan Kimbrel, PhD
NEPH	David Sheil-Hamad, MD
NURA	Cynthia Kuhn, PhD
NURC	Ramesh Raghupathi, PhD
NURD	Dongming Cai, MD, PhD
NURE	Paula Bickford, PhD
NURP	Karin Westland-High, PhD
NURR	Safwan Badr, MD
ONCC	Stephen Shiao, PhD
ONCE	Arun Rishi, PhD
PULM	Emily Wan, MD
SPLD	Vahram Haroutunian, PhD

# **Subcommittee Chairs not present:**

CAMM	James Carson, PhD
DEIR	Lois Dell-Italia, MD
ENDA	Deborah Clegg, PhD
IMMA	Raymond Migrino, MD

INFA Jack Stapleton, MD
NURB Jeffry Petruska, PhD
ONCA Linda Malkas, PhD
ONCB George Simon, MD

SPLP Christine Lovely, MD, PhD

SURG Jeffrey Jones, PhD

#### **BL/CS Staff Present:**

Jane Battles, PhD Program Manager Michael Burgio, PhD Scientific Review Program Manager, DFO Alex Chui, PhD Acting Deputy Director for BLRD Pauline Cilladi-Rehrer, MSBA Alternate DFO Shakeria Cohen, PhD Program Manager Carol Fowler, PhD Program Manager Amanda Hunt, PhD Program Manager Faiyaz Khan, PhD Program Manager Masood Khan, PhD Program Manager Ying-Yee Kong, PhD Program Manager Holly Krull, PhD Acting Director for BLRD Vetisha Mcclair, PhD Program Manager Kristina Nord, MSW Clinical Trials Manager Kimberlee Potter, PhD Program Manager Mark Roltsch, PhD Program Manager Jayanthi Sankar, PhD Program Manager Arun Sharma, PhD Program Manager Nicholas Simon, PhD Program Manager Miriam Smyth, PhD Acting Director of CSRD

**Public Participants: None** 

# **OPEN SESSION:**

- I. Dr. Paula Bickford called the meeting to order.
- II. Dr. Michael Burgio led the roll call of the Board Members and BLCS staff.
- III. Service Directors' Remarks were given by Dr. Holly Krull and Dr. Miriam Smyth.
- IV. ORD Updates
  - Dr. Michael Burgio presented a review on the Transition from Services to Portfolios.
  - Dr. Michael Burgio reported the Fall 2023 cycle results.

# **CLOSED SESSION:**

 Subcommittee Chairs presented the results and subsequent recommendations of their respective subcommittee meeting. Chairs not present at the meeting will be sent an email asking them to concur with their respective panel recommendations.

- II. Proposed next meeting date: Tuesday, January 7, 2025, at 3PM EDT.
- III. Dr. Bickford adjourned the meeting at 4:30 PM EST.

/s/Paula Bickford, Ph.D. Committee Chair Date: July 30, 2024