DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS Advisory Committee on the Readjustment of Veterans

March 06, 2025 Virtual: Microsoft Teams 1:00 PM – 2:30 p.m. (EST)

MINUTES

Thursday, March 06, 2025:

Attendees:

Committee Members Present:

Heather Nystrom
Mark Fleming
Abigail Deluca
Patricia Ross
Cory Pearson
Danica Thomas
Khamkay Chitaphong
Cheryl Jacobs
Isaac Pike
Grover Wind
Steven Payton

Department of Veterans Affairs Staff Present:

Joshua Mathis, Designated Federal Officer
Matthew Newman, Assistant Designated Federal Officer

Public Attendees:

No members of the public were present during this meeting.

Opening Remarks:

At 1:00 p.m., Designated Federal Officer Joshua Mathis welcomed the Committee members, initiated housekeeping items, and discussed virtual meeting decorum. The Committee's mission, objectives, and duties were discussed, and the Committee's VA support staff were introduced. There were no members of the public at the beginning of the meeting to introduce themselves.

Committee Chair Heather Nystrom called the meeting to order, took a roll call to

establish a quorum, and provided an overview of the meeting, including a review of the day's agenda.

Committee Discussion:

At 1:15 p.m., Chair Heather Nystrom led the Committee in reviewing the Committee draft report. Each of the recommendations was discussed and reviewed among the Committee to ensure compatibility with SMART goal formatting, accuracy, and clarity of language. In total, three recommendations were discussed.

Committee members voted unanimously to approve the recommendations and to allow for the final version of the report to be submitted.

Committee Discussion:

At 1:45 p., Chair Heather Nystrom and DFO Josh Mathis led the committee in discussing the next steps with the 25th report, as well as future meetings. Dates for the next virtual admin meeting were discussed for July. Possible locations for the next inperson visit in October were also discussed.

Public Comment:

There were no members of the public in the meeting for the scheduled public comment period from 2:00 P.M. to 2:30 p.m.

Wrap-Up:

Committee Chair Heather Nystrom adjourned the meeting at 2:00 p.m.

/s/ Heather Nystrom Committee Chair Date: 6/5/2025